What To Do

What I Thought Would Happen...
DAY DATE FROM TO RIDE
MILES
TOTAL
MILES
COMMENTS
-01 Thursday, June 22 San Ysidro, CA Scripps Ranch,CA 30 30 First Corner during lunch from work
01 Friday, June 23 Scripps Ranch,CA Salina,KS 1,523 1,553 BBG 3000 Day 1
02 Saturday, June 24 Salina,KS Orlando,FL 1,522 3,075 BBG 3000 Day 2
03 Sunday, June 25 Orlando,FL Orlando,FL - - day of rest at the Estes (or maybe not)
04 Monday, June 26 Orlando,FL Key West,FL 394 3,469 catch the sunset at Key West (or maybe not)
05 Tuesday, June 27 Key West,FL St. Petersburg,FL 492 3,961 visit Julanne
06 Wednesday, June 28 St. Petersburg,FL Spartanburg,SC 597 4,558 freeway
07 Thursday, June 29 Spartanburg,SC Front Royal,VA 567 5,125 Blue Ridge Parkway & Skyline Drive
08 Friday, June 30 Front Royal,VA New London,CT 460 5,585 visit Bobby Brock, Edison, Stage Deli
09 Saturday, July 1 New London,CT Gorham,NH 434 6,019 tourism in the White Mountains
10 Sunday, July 2 Gorham,NH Madawaska,ME 430 6,449 add side trips in the N of Maine-Moosehead Trail
11 Monday, July 3 Madawaska,ME Sudbury,ON 780 7,229 cross the St. Lawrence by ferry
12 Tuesday, July 4 Sudbury,ON Superior,WI 670 7,899 Mackinac I, add Copper Harbor & Eagle Harbor
13 Wednesday, July 5 Superior,WI Williston,ND 714 8,613 Mille Lacs Lake
14 Thursday, July 6 Williston,ND Kalispell,MT 579 9,192 US2 across Montana
15 Friday, July 7 Kalispell,MT Blaine,WA 624 9,816 complete The Four Corners Tour on day 15 (16)
16 Saturday, July 8 Blaine,WA Spokane,WA 432 10,248 Grand Coulee Dam
17 Sunday, July 9 Spokane,WA Lewiston,ID 148 10,396 pick up Carla in Spokane at 3:41 PM
18 Monday, July 10 Lewiston,ID Missoula,MT 239 10,635 Lolo Pass
19 Tuesday, July 11 Missoula,MT West Yellowstone 286 10,921 mostly freeway
20 Wednesday, July 12 West Yellowstone West Yellowstone 166 11,087 tourism in Yellowstone NP
21 Thursday, July 13 West Yellowstone Cody,WY 261 11,348 Beartooth Pass, Red Lodge & Chief Joseph Hwy
22 Friday, July 14 Cody,WY Jackson Hole,WY 178 11,526 Carla flies out of Jackson Hole at 4:15 PM
23 Saturday, July 15 Jackson Hole,WY Ruby's Inn,UT 648 12,174 The Lookout
24 Sunday, July 16 Ruby's Inn,UT Scripps Ranch,CA 677 12,851 Cedar Breaks NM, Mt Charleston & home
AVE. MILES/DAY - 534 -
   
What Actually Did Happen...
DAY DATE FROM TO RIDE
MILES
TOTAL
MILES
COMMENTS
-01 Thursday, June 22 San Ysidro, CA Scripps Ranch,CA 35 35 First Corner during lunch from work
01 Friday, June 23 Scripps Ranch,CA Salina,KS 1,529 1,564 BBG 3000 Day 1 - Hailstorm in Utah, rain
02 Saturday, June 24 Salina,KS Orlando,FL 1,513 3,077 BBG 3000 Day 2 - I made it!
03 Sunday, June 25 Orlando,FL Orlando,FL - - vegetable state at Ed & Marge's house
04 Monday, June 26 Orlando,FL Islamorada, FL 499 3,576 Key West, The Islander Resort
05 Tuesday, June 27 Islamorada, FL Starke,FL 416 3,992 visited Julanne, lots of rain
06 Wednesday, June 28 Starke,FL Asheville,NC 575 4,567 freeway, rain
07 Thursday, June 29 Asheville,NC Harrisonburg,VA 457 5,024 rain, The Blue Ridge Parkway, Skyline Drive
08 Friday, June 30 Harrisonburg,VA Branford,CT 471 5,495 Edison, NJ, The George Washington Bridge
09 Saturday, July 1 Branford,CT Lincoln,NH 354 5,849 traffic, The White Mountains of NH
10 Sunday, July 2 Lincoln,NH Madawaska,ME 501 6,350 Mount Washington, NH & ME backroads
11 Monday, July 3 Madawaska,ME Casselman,ON 478 6,828 St Lawrence Seaway, Quebec
12 Tuesday, July 4 Casselman,ON Sault St Marie,MI 550 7,378 Ontario, road construction, trucks
13 Wednesday, July 5 Sault St Marie,MI Fargo,ND 751 8,129 ticket, riding in the dark
14 Thursday, July 6 Fargo,ND Miles City,MT 470 8,599 I-94, Wing Ding in Billings, MT, Wing people
15 Friday, July 7 Miles City,MT Moses Lake,WA 814 9,413 I-90 over Lookout Pass, high mileage day
16 Saturday, July 8 Moses Lake,WA Wenatchee,WA 609 10,022 4 Corners complete, N Cascades Scenic Hwy
17 Sunday, July 9 Wenatchee,WA Lewiston,ID 368 10,390 Grand Coulee Dam, pick up Carla, smelly town
18 Monday, July 10 Lewiston,ID Missoula,MT 249 10,639 Lewis & Clark Wild & Scenic, Lolo Pass
19 Tuesday, July 11 Missoula,MT West Yellowstone,MT 286 10,925 freeway, Testicle Festival, rain, howling wolves
20 Wednesday, July 12 West Yellowstone,MT West Yellowstone,MT 143 11,068 Yellowstone NP, wolves (2)
21 Thursday, July 13 West Yellowstone,MT Cody,WY 246 11,314 Yellowstone Beartooth Pass, Chief Joseph Hwy
22 Friday, July 14 Cody,WY Ogden,UT 441 11,755 bear, Grand Teton, US 89
23 Saturday, July 15 Ogden,UT St George,UT 570 12,325 Mt Nebo, UT31, UT12 best riding day ever
24 Sunday, July 16 St George,UT Scripps Ranch,CA 448 12,773 home
AVE. MILES/DAY - 531 -
AVE. MILES/DAY
Non-BBG 3000 (Days 4-24)
- 462 -
AVE. MILES/DAY
w/out Carla (Days 4-16 & 23, 24)
- 531 -
AVE. MILES/DAY
w/ Carla (Days 17-22)
- 289 -
   
  Road Writes * Photos * Documentation * The Map
© COPYRIGHT 2000, Richard R. Brookes, Peter H. Baumann